This small garden (4ha) was laid out in 1620 by the lord of the region, Asano Nagaakira. It is located near Kyobashi River, from where it sources water for its pretty central pond. Shukkei-en was destroyed by the atomic bomb then rebuilt in 1951. The garden was designed to offer a miniature vision of some of the archipelago's famous landscapes. The main hill thus symbolises Mt Fuji, and the pond represents a panorama of the Inland Sea, with its multitude of little islands. There are several thatch-roofed tea houses offering a peaceful setting for drinking tea.
Apr-Sep: 9am-6pm; rest of year: 9am-5pm