Kodai-ji, a temple founded in 1606 by the widow of a high-ranking nobleman, was partially destroyed by fire. The Kaisan-do pavilion and Otama-ya mortuary chapel, however, bear witness to the former opulence of the shrine. The pavilion is hung with Kano paintings and the chapel sports some remarkable gold-inlaid lacquerware. The site's lovely garden, designed by Kobori Enshu (1597-1647), is conducive to meditation.
Nearby tourist attractions
This Museum was opened in 1978 by the
Fushimi-Inari Taisha is probably one of
A Unesco World Heritage Site, Kamigamo
Chion-in Temple, near the mausoleum of
Other ideas « Patrimony »