Branitz castle was built by Gottfried Semper in 1772. Apart from the vestibule, note the dining room, furnished in neo-Renaissance style. A 7-ton chandelier hangs in the library. A gallery of paintings exhibits works by Karl Blechen, a Romantic painter born in Cottbus. The park was designed to give the impression of a natural lake, and contains some works of art. Of particular interest is the burial mound under which lie the remains of prince von Pückler.
©H. & D. Zielske/Look/Photononstop
Address :Robinienweg 5
Apr-Oct: 10am-6pm: rest of year: daily except Mon 11am-5pm - closed 24 Dec