Castle of St Peter
In the evening, when it is bathed in gold and silver light, the castle rises likes a mirage over the peninsula. It was built in 1402 by the Knights of St John of Jerusalem, who made use of the ruins from a neighbouring mausoleum, as witnessed by the fragments of columns that appear in the impressive structure of this miraculously intact fortress. Nowadays, the castle is home to the Museum of Underwater Archaeology which, despite its slightly kitsch displays, contains a number of treasures such as the wreck of a 10C Fatimid ship and its cargo of glassware.
Phone:+90 252 316 2516
high season: 9am-7pm; rest of year: 9am-5pm - closed Mon