This typical hall church was built in the late 15C in replacement of the Romanesque church which had burned down, its relatively plain external appearance gives no indication of the immense treasure concealed within. Three identical naves are supported by slim pillars, a rood screen is crowned by a wooden Crucifixion Group, produced around 1220, the lovely pulpit made in 1505, triple-keyboard organs (45 stops and 2674 pipes and a 16C mortuary chapel reworked in the Mannerist style adorned with allegorical figures.
©H. & D. Zielske/Look/Photononstop
May-Oct: 10am, 2pm, 3pm and 4pm, Sun and Bank Hols 11.30am, 2pm, 3pm and 4pm; rest of year: 11am, 2pm and 3pm, Sun 11.30am, 2pm and 3pm