Beauport - le Pays de la Canne
Having been in operation since 1863, the Beauport sugar refinery closed in 1990. Since then the remodelled site has taken on a new lease of life in the guise of a huge cultural centre, replacing the sugar industry that brought prosperity to Port-Louis and characterised the whole island. The visit is rendered all the more enjoyable by means of interactive displays, audio-visual material, technical explanations, and a train trip on the old sugar cane railway.
Adresse :Ancienne usine de Beauport
Phone:+33 5 90 22 44 70
[daily except Bank Hols 9am-5pm - train ride (50min)-11am and 3pm, extra tours at 10am and 2pm in high season]