Founded in 545 by St Kieran in the heart of Ireland, this monastery was also the burial place of the Kings of Connaught and Tara. As its renown grew, it was plundered with increasing regularity and finally reduced to ruin in 1552 by English troops from Athlone. A fine collection of ancient grave slabs, a remarkable sandstone Cross of Scriptures, possibly erected by King Flann (d 916), a number of small places of worship, the cathedral and the round tower erected after the 10C.
Adresse :Main St.
Phone:+353 90 967 4195
Price:6 € (children 2 €)
[mid May-mid Sep: 9am-7pm; mid Mar-mid May and mid Sep-end Oct: 10am-6pm; rest of year: 10am-5.30pm]