Kasteel Ooidonk

This 16C castle, surrounded by water and trees, is still inhabited and replaced a Medieval fortress destroyed during the Wars of Religion. Its crow-stepped gables and onion-domed towers are characteristic of the Hispano-Flemish style. The interior, refurbished in the 19C, boasts fine apartments. The 16C portraits include Philippe de Montmorency, Count of Hornes, who was beheaded in Brussels in 1568.

Useful information

Address : 

Ooidonkdreef 11

Phone:

+32 9 282 35 70

Opening hours

early Apr-mid Sep: Sun and Bank Hols 2pm-5.30pm; Jul-Aug: additional tour Sat same times

Nearby tourist attractions

Museum Léon De Smet
Museum Léon De Smet
This house was built in 1969 by the last
0:30
Museum Gust De Smet
Museum Gust De Smet
The house to which the Ghent and second
0:30
Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens
Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens
This long white brick building (1969)
1:00
Deinze Church
Deinze Church
The fine 13C Onze-Lieve-Vrouwekerk (Our
0:15
Museum van Deinze en de Leiestreek
Museum van Deinze en de Leiestreek
Among the paintings and sculptures by
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Deinze Church
Deinze Church
The fine 13C Onze-Lieve-Vrouwekerk (Our
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Museum Léon De Smet
Museum Léon De Smet
This house was built in 1969 by the last
0:30
Museum Gust De Smet
Museum Gust De Smet
The house to which the Ghent and second
0:30
Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens
Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens
This long white brick building (1969)
1:00
See all