Begijnhof of Kortrijk

Recommended
This charming little village lies between two churches, Église St-Martin and Église Notre-Dame. It is surprisingly quiet, despite being in a busy area. The begijnhof, founded in 1238, was funded by the Countess of Flanders, Jane of Constantinople (1241). You will see her statue here. The present cottages date from the 17C. The Mother Superior's house can be distinguished by its double step gables. A small museum gives an insight into the atmosphere of old is installed in the St Anne room.

Useful information

Address : 

Begijnhofstraat, 8500 Kortrijk

Opening hours

7am-9pm - closed weekends

Nearby tourist attractions

Church of Our Lady of Kortrijk
Church of Our Lady of Kortrijk
The towers of Our Lady church, founded
0:15
Kortrijk Belfry
Kortrijk Belfry
Built in the 14C, with four corner
Grote Markt
Grote Markt
This square is the commercial hub of
0:15
Courtrai 1302 Museum
Courtrai 1302 Museum
This museum devoted to Kortrijk's
1:00
Hôtel de ville
Hôtel de ville
The Town Hall has a restored late-Gothic
0:15
Tours du Broel Tours du Broel
Tours du Broel
The very photogenic, and recently
0:30
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Church of Our Lady of Kortrijk
Church of Our Lady of Kortrijk
The towers of Our Lady church, founded
0:15
Kortrijk Belfry
Kortrijk Belfry
Built in the 14C, with four corner
Grote Markt
Grote Markt
This square is the commercial hub of
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Church of Our Lady of Kortrijk
Church of Our Lady of Kortrijk
The towers of Our Lady church, founded
0:15
Courtrai 1302 Museum
Courtrai 1302 Museum
This museum devoted to Kortrijk's
1:00
Hôtel de ville
Hôtel de ville
The Town Hall has a restored late-Gothic
0:15
See all