Écomusée régional du Centre

Interesting
The last mine (working since 1685) closed in 1973. Visitors can see one of the 162 workers' houses built near the St Emmanuel Mine from 1838 to 1853. The former offices, with a fine glass roof over the inner courtyard, various tool workshops, the electric sub-station and mine shaft have retained their past atmosphere. The Mine Museumis available after the tour.

Useful information

Adresse : 

r. St-Patrice 2B

Phone:

+32 64 28 20 00

Price:

10 € (children 7 €)

Opening hours

mid Apr-end Oct: 9am-5pm, weekends and Bank Hols 10am-6pm; early Nov-mid Apr: 9am-5pm by appointment and for groups only, closed weekends - guided tours: Tue-Fri-9am, 10am, 11am, 1.30pm and 3pm, weekends and Bank Hols-10am, 11am, 1.30pm, 3pm and 4.30pm (1hr30-2hr)

Nearby tourist attractions

Cantine des Italiens
Cantine des Italiens
These huts were built to accommodate
15 minutes
Ianchelevici Museum
Ianchelevici Museum
The former neo-Classical law courts now
30 minutes
Boat trips to the lifts
Boat trips to the lifts
This trip gives an insight into the life
Strépy-Thieu Boat Lift
Strépy-Thieu Boat Lift
The construction works which started in
15 minutes
Hydraulic lifts
Hydraulic lifts
These four fine metal structures
30 minutes
Domaine de Mariemont: the grounds
Domaine de Mariemont: the grounds
In the fine45ha groundsof this estate
60 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Ianchelevici Museum
Ianchelevici Museum
The former neo-Classical law courts now
30 minutes
Mariemont Royal Museum
Mariemont Royal Museum
The museum has rich archaeological and
120 minutes
International Carnival and Mask Museum
International Carnival and Mask Museum
This museum, enabling to tour the world
See all