Palace of the Prince-Bishops

Interesting
This palace, built around 1000 by Bishop Notger, has been renovated many times. It was entirely rebuilt in 1526 on the orders of Prince-Bishop La Marks, and its main façade was rebuilt after the 1734 fire. The left wing, in its neo-Gothic style, dates back to the 19C. The great courtyard is surrounded with galleries with raised arcades and 60 curved columns. Currently, the buildng is occupied by the administrative services of the province and the Law Courts.

Useful information

Nearby tourist attractions

Museum of Walloon Life
Museum of Walloon Life
This museum is devoted to popular arts
2:00
Marketplace
Marketplace
This pleasant squre is lined with many
0:15
Impasse des Ursulines
Impasse des Ursulines
This street is named after the religious
0:15
Ansembourg Museum
Ansembourg Museum
This beautiful private mansion dating
1:00
Rue Hors-Château
Rue Hors-Château
This street, with its series of narrow
0:15
Place St-Lambert
Place St-Lambert
This square is the historical birthplace
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Marketplace
Marketplace
This pleasant squre is lined with many
0:15
Impasse des Ursulines
Impasse des Ursulines
This street is named after the religious
0:15
Ansembourg Museum
Ansembourg Museum
This beautiful private mansion dating
1:00
See all