St Bernard laid the abbey's foundations in 1147, but the church and cloister were only built from 1198 to 1209. It was ransacked by Spaniards and local revolts in the 16C, then enclosed within fortifications in 1587. In 1789, the Austrians pillaged the buildings, occupied by the French in 1795. A signposted tour enables visitors to see the main courtyard, cloister and church.
Phone:+32 71 88 09 80
Apr-Oct: 10am-6pm; rest of year: daily except Tue 10am-5pm - closed 1 Jan, 24-25 and 31 Dec
Other ideas « Patrimony »