Built in 1554 on an island in the middle of a lake alongside a forest, this Renaissance castle originally played a defensive role. Still occupied by the descendants of its builder, only parts are open to the public. Admire the Great Hall, restored in 1975, and the hunting trophies brought back from Africa by a previous owner. The lovely 18C grounds, redesigned in 1959, are perfect for a stroll. A 3 000m2 museum houses a collection of old cars, planes, motorcycles and horse-drawn carriages.
Address :Egeskov Gade 18, 5772 Kværndrup
Phone:+45 62 27 10 16
[29 Jun-11 Aug: 10am-7pm; 12-31 Aug: 10am-6pm; 1 Sep-20 Oct and 26 Apr-28 Jun: 10am-5pm - late-night opening (11pm) 10, 17, 24 and 31 Jul and 7 Aug]