La Metzig

Interesting
This Renaissance building was built in 1525 by the Butchers Guild (Metzger). It held its meetings on the top floor, while butchers' shops occupied the ground floor. At the centre of the square, you can see a fuontain with two superposed bowls, topped by a lion wearing the town's coat of arms. La Metzig is typically Alsatian, with its volute gables, double staircase, belfry-topped loggia and elegant stone balcony, surrounding the first floor.

Useful information

Address : 

place de l’Hôtel-de-Ville

Nearby tourist attractions

Tour des Forgerons
Tour des Forgerons
This former fortified gate, from the 14C
0:30
Old house
Old house
This pretty half-timbered Alsatian house
0:15
Carthusian Monastery Museum
Carthusian Monastery Museum
The museum is housed in the former
1:00
Jesuit Church
Jesuit Church
Although dating from the 17C, this
0:15
Church of St Peter and St Paul
Church of St Peter and St Paul
This 12C, yellow sandstone church in the
0:15
Chain well and Zittgloeckel
Chain well and Zittgloeckel
On the Place de la Mairie is an
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Tour des Forgerons
Tour des Forgerons
This former fortified gate, from the 14C
0:30
Old house
Old house
This pretty half-timbered Alsatian house
0:15
Jesuit Church
Jesuit Church
Although dating from the 17C, this
0:15
See all