Château de l'Engelbourg

Interesting
Engelbourg castle, which was built by the Counts of Ferrette, belonged to the Habsburgs and from 1648 to the King of France. Louis XIV ordered the destruction of the fortress in 1673. These strange yet magnificent ruins stand on a rocky outcrop with a fine view over Thann, the plain of Alsace and the Black Forest. Despite its state of collapse, the keep has preserved its lower section, which faces out towards the plain. The castle is also known by the nickname, the "Witch's Eye".

Useful information

Nearby tourist attractions

Thann Museum
Thann Museum
In the old corn hall dating from 1519,
Witches' Tower
Witches' Tower
This 15C tower with an onion dome is the
30 minutes
Collegiate Church of St Theobald
Collegiate Church of St Theobald
Its late Middle Ages Gothic architecture
30 minutes
Ascent to the summit
Ascent to the summit
The first stage: Silberloch cemetery,
60 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Witches' Tower
Witches' Tower
This 15C tower with an onion dome is the
30 minutes
Collegiate Church of St Theobald
Collegiate Church of St Theobald
Its late Middle Ages Gothic architecture
30 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Thann Museum
Thann Museum
In the old corn hall dating from 1519,
Collegiate Church of St Theobald
Collegiate Church of St Theobald
Its late Middle Ages Gothic architecture
30 minutes
See all