Dijon Archeology Museum

Interesting
The east wing of the missing cloister of the former Abbey of St Bénigne has some fine Romanesque rooms with Gallo-Roman sculptures, including a statuette of the goddess Sequana found at the source of the Seine. The former monks' sleeping quarters house a collection of medieval Dijon sculpture, including a work by Claus Sluter and a superb Christ on the Cross by Claus de Werve. In the former cells are exhibits from the prehistoric collections. Finally, there is an attractive frieze representing the Mother-Goddesses of Alesia.

Useful information

Address : 

5 rue du Dr-Maret, 21000 Dijon

Phone:

+33 3 80 48 83 70

Price:

free of charge

Opening hours

Apr-Oct: daily except Tue 9.30am-12.30pm, 2pm-6pm; rest of year: Wed and weekends 9.30am-12.30pm, 2pm-6pm - closed some Bank Hols

Nearby tourist attractions

St Bénigne's Cathedral St Bénigne's Cathedral
St Bénigne's Cathedral
Under the porchway of the cathedral,
0:30
St Philibert's Church of Dijon St Philibert's Church of Dijon
St Philibert's Church of Dijon
Built in the 12C and no longer in use,
0:15
Square Darcy Square Darcy
Square Darcy
Darcy was the engineer who installed a
0:30
Place François-Rude (or du Bareuzai) Place François-Rude (or du Bareuzai)
Place François-Rude (or du Bareuzai)
In the centre of a pedestrian area
0:15
Jardin des Sciences
Jardin des Sciences
A stone's throw from Dijon Station, the
1:00
Dijon Municipal Museum
Dijon Municipal Museum
Founded in 1836 in the former barracks
1:30
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

St Bénigne's Cathedral St Bénigne's Cathedral
St Bénigne's Cathedral
Under the porchway of the cathedral,
0:30
St Philibert's Church of Dijon St Philibert's Church of Dijon
St Philibert's Church of Dijon
Built in the 12C and no longer in use,
0:15
Dijon Municipal Museum
Dijon Municipal Museum
Founded in 1836 in the former barracks
1:30
See all