Richelieu The Essential
In 1621, when Armand du Plessis (1585-1642), Bishop of Luçon, acquired Richelieu, all that stood on the banks of the Mable was a village and a manor house. When he became prime minister and Duke of Richelieu, he entrusted Jacques Lemercier with the task of designing a new castle and a town encircled by walls. In the 17C the construction was acknowledged as a wonder by all who saw it. Almost nothing remains of the Cardinal's palace, but the pleasant town with its fairs and markets still thrives.