Sceaux The Essential
The town has one of the finest parks in the Île-de-France region, the setting for a château that no longer exists. The Grand Canal, Octagon and immense lawns will delight visitors. Built by Colbert in 1670 to plans drawn by architect Claude Perrault, the château was sold to the Duke of Maine in 1700 and was razed after the Revolution. The present building was built in 1856 by the Duke of Treviso. It was acquired by the Seine department in 1923 and today houses the Musée du Domaine Départemental de Sceaux.