Philippe-Auguste's wall

Interesting
The largest vestige of Philippe-Auguste's protective city walls - a long section of rampart dissected by two towers - is visible in rue des Jardins-Saint-Paul. These fortifications linked the Barbeau tower, which stood on the present site of n° 32 Quai des Célestins, to the St-Paul gate. Rabelais died at n° 8 on 9 April 1553. In the background, admire the view of the chevet and dome of the St-Paul-St-Louis church.

Useful information

Adresse : 

Rue des Jardins-St-Paul

Nearby tourist attractions

St-Paul Village
St-Paul Village
This small area, stretching between the
30 minutes
Musée de la Magie and Musée des Automates (Museum of Magic)
Musée de la Magie and Musée des Automates (Museum of Magic)
The museum's collection traces the
Hôtel de Sens
Hôtel de Sens
One of the great private homes of
15 minutes
Église St-Paul-St-Louis
Église St-Paul-St-Louis
This church, originally dedicated to St
30 minutes
European Museum of Photography
European Museum of Photography
The collections of the Maison Européenne
European Museum of Photography
European Museum of Photography
The collections of the Maison Européenne
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

St-Paul Village
St-Paul Village
This small area, stretching between the
30 minutes
Hôtel de Sens
Hôtel de Sens
One of the great private homes of
15 minutes
Église St-Paul-St-Louis
Église St-Paul-St-Louis
This church, originally dedicated to St
30 minutes
See all