Rue de l'Ancienne-Comédie

For 81 years, the theatre on this street hosted premières by Racine and Molière. At the time was street was known as rue des Fossés-St-Germain. In 1770, the theatre group moved to the Palais des Tuileries before taking possession of the Odéon; the street changed its name accordingly. At n° 13, Le Procope, founded in 1686, is the oldest café in Paris, and was the haunt of literary figures such as La Fontaine, Voltaire, Daudet, Oscar Wilde and Verlaine.

Useful information

Adresse : 

rue de l’Ancienne-Comédie

Nearby tourist attractions

Cour de Rohan
Cour de Rohan
In the 15C, this series of three
15 minutes
Cour du Commerce-St-André
Cour du Commerce-St-André
This courtyard was opened in 1776. In a
15 minutes
Carrefour de l'Odéon
Carrefour de l'Odéon
This crossroads, on the edge of
15 minutes
Carrefour de Buci
Carrefour de Buci
In the 18C, this crossroads was a focal
15 minutes
Rue des Grands-Augustins
Rue des Grands-Augustins
Built on the orders of Philippe le Bel
15 minutes
Rue Cardinale
Rue Cardinale
Opened by Cardinal Fürstenberg in 1700
15 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Cour de Rohan
Cour de Rohan
In the 15C, this series of three
15 minutes
Cour du Commerce-St-André
Cour du Commerce-St-André
This courtyard was opened in 1776. In a
15 minutes
Carrefour de l'Odéon
Carrefour de l'Odéon
This crossroads, on the edge of
15 minutes
See all