Rue de Poissy

This street was opened in 1772 along the gardens of the Collège des Bernardins, founded in 1246. At the time of the Revolution, the building served as a staging-point for prisoners condemned as galley slaves, and in 1845 it was converted into a fire station. The refectory, at n° 20, with its three ogive-vaulted aisles divided into 17 bays, is one of the most beautiful Gothic halls in Paris.

Useful information

Address : 

rue de Poissy

Nearby tourist attractions

Rue St-Victor
Rue St-Victor
The Maison de la Mutualité, at n° 24,
0:15
Église Saint-Nicolas-du-Chardonnet
Église Saint-Nicolas-du-Chardonnet
The current building replaces a chapel
0:15
Quai de la Tournelle
Quai de la Tournelle
From Grands-Degrés Square to Sully
0:15
Musée de Minéralogie Paristech (Mineralogy Museum)
Musée de Minéralogie Paristech (Mineralogy Museum)
This museum is housed in the Mining
2:00
Rue Maître-Albert
Rue Maître-Albert
This small street is lined with old
0:15
Place Maubert
Place Maubert
It was in this square that Maître Albert
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Rue St-Victor
Rue St-Victor
The Maison de la Mutualité, at n° 24,
0:15
Église Saint-Nicolas-du-Chardonnet
Église Saint-Nicolas-du-Chardonnet
The current building replaces a chapel
0:15
Quai de la Tournelle
Quai de la Tournelle
From Grands-Degrés Square to Sully
0:15
See all