Basilica of St-Nicolas-de-Port
In the 11C, knights from Lorraine brought back one of the fingers of St Nicholas to the town known as Port (named after the busy trade carried out on the River Meurthe). A church was built around the shrine, attracting pilgrims from near and far. The present edifice dates from the late 15C-early 16C and, since 1983, has been undergoing massive restoration work. Admire the lovely Flamboyant west front, the nave covered with lierne and tierceron vaulting, and the remarkable stained-glass windows (1507-10) in the apse and the aisle, where the Renaissance influence can already be felt.
Address :1 rue des Trois-Pucelles
Phone:+33 3 83 46 81 50
high season: 7.30am-7pm; rest of year: 8am-5pm
Other ideas « Patrimony »
Other ideas « Art and Culture »
A Baroque façade houses an interior that