Malbrouck castle at Manderen
The imposing château that stands atop the wooded hill of Meinsberg was constructed between 1419 and 1434. Having been passed from owner to owner, the fortress eventually fell to the Duke of Marlborough, who installed his headquarters here in 1705, during the War of the Spanish Succession. The château was eventually to take on his name (Malbrouck being a distorted version of Marlborough) and the French composed the song Malbrouck s'en va-t-en guerre in his honour. It ended up in ruins in the 19C. Restoration of the castle, carried out from 1991 to 1998, has restored it to its former glory.
Address :Rue du Château, 57480 Manderen
Phone:+33 3 87 35 03 87
Price:7.50 € (-16 years old free of charge) €
Jun-Aug: 10am-6pm; rest of year: 10am-5pm - closed Mon, Dec-Mar, 1 May