The Lieutenance

The old gate of Caen, one of two entrances to the old medieval village is embedded on the facade of this 17C dwelling between two watch towers. A plaque commemorates the departure of Champlain to Canada in 1608 that led to the foundation of Quebec. Old riggings are visible: the Dehel, cutter pilot sailing boat form Ouistreham, Ste-Bernadette, a rowing boat from Honfleur, the Roche-Bleue, from Barfleur, etc.

Useful information

Address : 

quai Ste-Catherine

Nearby tourist attractions

Ste-Catherine's Church Tower
Ste-Catherine's Church Tower
This sturdy oak construction, isolated
Honfleur's Vieux-Bassin
Honfleur's Vieux-Bassin
It was created by Duquesne under the
1:30
Eugène Boudin Museum
Eugène Boudin Museum
This museum presents a rich collection
1:00
Museum of Old Honfleur
Museum of Old Honfleur
It is made up of two sections: the
Arthur-Boudin Square
Arthur-Boudin Square
Old slate shingled houses border this
0:15
Old Honfleur
Old Honfleur
Enjoy Honfleur by strolling along its
1:30
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Ste-Catherine's Church Tower
Ste-Catherine's Church Tower
This sturdy oak construction, isolated
Eugène Boudin Museum
Eugène Boudin Museum
This museum presents a rich collection
1:00
Museum of Old Honfleur
Museum of Old Honfleur
It is made up of two sections: the
See all