Mémorial de l'Internement et de la Déportation - Camp de Royallieu

The military barracks of Royallieu (1913) were transformed in June 1940 into a camp, "Frontstalag 122". Since February 2008 a sober and discreet memorial has stood here. In front of the memorial entrance, the glass steles of the Wall of Names list the names of the 41 876 men who were interned and deported during the Second World War (among them, Robert Desnos, Robert Anthelme, Jorge Semprun). The historical section of the memorial, designed by Christian Delage, relates how the Germans went from a policy of repression to a policy of deportation.

Useful information

Address : 

2 bis avenue des Martyrs-de-la-Liberté

Phone:

+33 3 44 96 37 00

Price:

3 € (-18 years old 1.50 €)

Opening hours

10am-6pm - closed Tue

Nearby tourist attractions

Antoine Vervel Museum
Antoine Vervel Museum
The museum, set up in the Hôtel de
1:00
Old Cassine
Old Cassine
This is a 15 C half-timbered house where
0:15
Beauregard tower
Beauregard tower
Old Royal keep or Governor's tower, it's
0:30
Saint-Jacques Church, Compiègne
Saint-Jacques Church, Compiègne
This Gothic Church was decorated in the
0:15
Museum of the history of the Figurine
Museum of the history of the Figurine
With 45,000 figurines in tin, lead, wood
1:30
Town Hall of Compiègne
Town Hall of Compiègne
This remarkable building was built under
0:30
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Old Cassine
Old Cassine
This is a 15 C half-timbered house where
0:15
Beauregard tower
Beauregard tower
Old Royal keep or Governor's tower, it's
0:30
Saint-Jacques Church, Compiègne
Saint-Jacques Church, Compiègne
This Gothic Church was decorated in the
0:15
See all