Tower Well

Not far from the Ostellerie manor, this well used to provide the entire town with water. Above it, a tower built by the Romans and destroyed in 1749 was once used to communicate by means of light signals with a chain of similar towers reaching as far as Lyon. Hence the name «Tower Well».

Useful information

Address : 

rue de la Tour

Nearby tourist attractions

Rue du Prince
Rue du Prince
Butchers, basketmakers, drapers,
0:15
Place du Tilleul
Place du Tilleul
It was originally called "Place de la
0:30
Church of St Mary Magdalen
Church of St Mary Magdalen
A church adjoining a fortress forms a
0:15
En-Haut (upper) gateway
En-Haut (upper) gateway
The En-Haut gateway is the main entrance
1:00
Pérouges fortification walls
Pérouges fortification walls
A few vestiges of the outer wall,
0:30
Rue des Rondes
Rue des Rondes
This charming street, characteristic of
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Rue du Prince
Rue du Prince
Butchers, basketmakers, drapers,
0:15
Place du Tilleul
Place du Tilleul
It was originally called "Place de la
0:30
Church of St Mary Magdalen
Church of St Mary Magdalen
A church adjoining a fortress forms a
0:15
See all