Museum of old St Etienne

There is a map here dating from 1258 which gives the first mention of the name St Etienne. There are plans and engravings illustrating the history of the town. There is also a recreation of the first railway line ever opened in France. This was in May 1827. Wagons loaded with coal were pulled by horses over a distance of 21 km between St Etienne and Andrezieux.

Useful information

Adresse : 

11-13bis rue Gambetta

Phone:

+33 4 77 25 74 32

Nearby tourist attractions

Rue Denis-Escoffier
Rue Denis-Escoffier
At the corner of this old St Etienne
15 minutes
Rue Michelet
Rue Michelet
This main road parallel to the Rue
15 minutes
Maison François-Ier
Maison François-Ier
This is an attractive 16C facade adorned
15 minutes
Place Boivin
Place Boivin
This square formerly the heart of the
15 minutes
Grand'Église
Grand'Église
This Church, the only example of Gothic
15 minutes
Maison de Marcellin Allard
Maison de Marcellin Allard
5 Caryatids decorate the facade of this
15 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Grand'Église
Grand'Église
This Church, the only example of Gothic
15 minutes
Museum of Art and Industry
Museum of Art and Industry
Remodelled by architect Jean-Michel
120 minutes
St Etienne's French weapons and cycle factory
St Etienne's French weapons and cycle factory
Who does not remember with atouch of
15 minutes
See all