The castle of the Teutonic Order, surrounded by a moat full of water, was built in the 12C and extended during the 16C to accommodate the residence of the Grand Master, following which other structural changes were made. The coat of arms of the Grand Master Maximilian, Archduke of Austria (1590-1618) can be seen above the main entrance. The corner towers in the inner courtyard house Renaissance spiral staircases.
Apr-Oct: 10.30am-5pm; rest of year: 2pm-5pm, Sun 10.30am-5pm - closed Mon, 24-25 and 31 Dec
Other ideas « Patrimony »