Würzburg The Essential
Würzburg lies amid the vineyards on the banks of the Main. Nestling at the foot of the episcopal citadel of Marienberg, the town took on its present appearance between 1650 and 1750 under three prince-bishops of the Schönborn family, to whom we also owe the Baroque churches of the old town and the Residence Palace. Würzburg became known during the Gothic period for the creations of Tilman Riemenschneider (1460-1531), also known as the Master of Würzburg.
This superb palace was built between
Astute use of old stepped bastions has
The complex structure of the oval