The town was probably founded by Henry the Lion. Between 1247 and 1823, it enjoyed the staple right for shipping, and became a prosperous river port. The old town contains over 700 half-timbered houses, now restored and meticulously maintained. The most interesting lie along the streets between the town hall and the Werra. The keeps and fortification ruins provide the final touch of charm to this jewel of medieval art.