Ludwigslust Castle

The Baroque Ludwigslust castle (1772-1776) was built according to plans by the royal architect Johann Joachim Busch for Duke Frederick von Mecklenburg-Schwerin. Inside, the rooms' ornamentation is made out of imitation marble papier maché. The painting and sculpture on display bear witness to the artistic tastes of the dukes of Meklenburg. Furniture and objets d'art complete the holdings.

Useful information

Address : 

Schlossfreiheit, 19288 Ludwigslust

Opening hours

mid Apr-mid Oct: 10am-6pm; rest of year: 10am-5pm - closed Mon

Nearby tourist attractions

Ludwigslust Castle grounds Ludwigslust Castle grounds
Ludwigslust Castle grounds
The park was created in the 18C, but
See all