The castle church was burned down in 1760 and rebuilt in the Baroque style. It was on the original doors that Luther pinned up his famous 95 Articles in 1517. The new doors were cast in bronze in 1855 and reproduce the text. Luther's tomb is also in this church, as is that of Melanchthon, as well as the bronze epitaph to Friedrich the Wise executed in 1527 by Peter Vischer.
Address :Am Schlossplatz
Easter-end Oct: 10am-6pm, weekends and Bank Hols 11.30am-6pm; rest of year: 10am-4pm, Sun 11.30am-4pm
Nearby tourist attractions
Other ideas « Patrimony »