Ennis Friary

Interesting
This Franciscan monastery, which in the 14C housed 350 monks and over 600 students, was finally abolished in 1692. The nave and the choir date from the 13C, the south transept and central tower were added in the 15C. An Ecce Homo shows Christ with the Instruments of the Passion. Saint Francis has a cross-staff in his left hand and the stigmata on his right hand, feet and side. The most outstanding element is the Creagh tomb (1843).

Useful information

Adresse : 

Abbey St.

Phone:

+353 65 682 9100

Price:

3 €

Opening hours

[Easter weekend -end Sep: 10am-6pm]

Nearby tourist attractions

De Valera Museum and Library
De Valera Museum and Library
The Riches of Clare Exhibition retraces
60 minutes
West Clare Railway
West Clare Railway
Visitors are invited to take the short
Dromore Wood National Nature Reserve
Dromore Wood National Nature Reserve
Dromore Wood National Nature Reserve
30 minutes
Dysert O'Dea
Dysert O'Dea
This monastery was founded by St Tola in
30 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Dysert O'Dea
Dysert O'Dea
This monastery was founded by St Tola in
30 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

De Valera Museum and Library
De Valera Museum and Library
The Riches of Clare Exhibition retraces
60 minutes
West Clare Railway
West Clare Railway
Visitors are invited to take the short
Dysert O'Dea
Dysert O'Dea
This monastery was founded by St Tola in
30 minutes
See all