Newman House

Recommended
The two restored 18C houses are named after Cardinal Newman, the first rector of University College, who lived here when the college was founded in 1854. The smaller house has a marble tiled floor and a Cuban mahogany staircase and the original decoration of the Apollo Room. In the larger house (1765), the staircase is decorated with Rococo plasterwork - birds and musical instruments - by Robert West.

Useful information

Address : 

St.-Stephen's-Green 85-86

Phone:

+353 1 706 7422

Opening hours

Jun-Aug: 2pm, 3pm and 4pm - closed weekends and Mon

Nearby tourist attractions

University Church
University Church
This church was designed in the
0:15
Grafton Street
Grafton Street
The most elegant of Dublin's shopping
0:15
St Stephen's Green
St Stephen's Green
This green space, at one time common
0:15
Mansion House
Mansion House
Joshua Dawson, a builder, lived in this
0:15
Iveagh Gardens
Iveagh Gardens
Access is from Harcourt street to this
0:30
St Ann's Church
St Ann's Church
The parish was founded in 1707 and the
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

University Church
University Church
This church was designed in the
0:15
Grafton Street
Grafton Street
The most elegant of Dublin's shopping
0:15
St Stephen's Green
St Stephen's Green
This green space, at one time common
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

University Church
University Church
This church was designed in the
0:15
Mansion House
Mansion House
Joshua Dawson, a builder, lived in this
0:15
St Ann's Church
St Ann's Church
The parish was founded in 1707 and the
0:15
See all