A large copper beech tree stands in the grounds of Coole Park, former estate of Lady Gregory (1852-1932). Many important Irish literary personalities, such as William Butler Yeats, George Bernard Shaw, George Russell, John Millington Synge and Sean O'Casey, carved their initials in the trunk of this tree with Lady Gregory's consent. The house has now been demolished. The Visitor Centre is in the former stables, providing visitors with information about the National Park.
Adresse :N 18
Phone:+353 91 631 804
Price:free of charge
[Visitor Centre Jul-Aug: 10am-6pm; Apr-Jun and Sep: 10am-5pm - park all year]