Thoor Ballylee

Interesting
This 16C fortified house, used by William Butler Yeats for eleven years as a summer residence, is a common symbol in his poetic works, to which an inscription on the wall across the road bears witness. He spent most of the summer months converting the four floors of the tower, before being forced to abandon it in 1928. In 1964, the Kiltartan Society undertook restoration work on the building, together with the adjoining miller's cottage and the mill wheel.

Useful information

Adresse : 

N 66

Phone:

+353 91 537 700

Opening hours

[closed due to flooding.]

Nearby tourist attractions

Coole Park
Coole Park
A large copper beech tree stands in the
30 minutes
Cloghan Castle
Cloghan Castle
This fortified house was built in 1336
30 minutes
Kilmacduagh Monastery
Kilmacduagh Monastery
The ruins of the monastery founded in
30 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Cloghan Castle
Cloghan Castle
This fortified house was built in 1336
30 minutes
Kilmacduagh Monastery
Kilmacduagh Monastery
The ruins of the monastery founded in
30 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Cloghan Castle
Cloghan Castle
This fortified house was built in 1336
30 minutes
Kilmacduagh Monastery
Kilmacduagh Monastery
The ruins of the monastery founded in
30 minutes
See all