The most interesting and least damaged Cistercian ruins in Ireland are found along the Little Arrigle River, near its confluence with the River Nore. The abbey was probably founded between 1160 and 1170 by one of the kings of Ossory, to be used by the Benedictines. The 14C and 15C restored cloister columns bear notable carvings of animals, saints and figures dressed in Irish period clothing.
Address :N 9
Phone:+353 56 772 4623
Price:3 € (children 1 €)
Mar-Sep: 9am-5.30pm; Oct: 9am-5pm; Nov: 9.30am-4pm; rest of year: by appointment