Old Mellifont Abbey

Interesting
Mellifont, or «honey fountain», was Ireland's first Cistercian house, founded on the banks of the River Mattock in 1142 by Saint Malachie, together with 4 Irish and 9 French monks. The modern abbey (1938) is in Collon, 5 km north. What remains of the original abbey includes the guard room, the vaulted chapel house (14C) and four sides of the two-level eight-sided wash basin where the monks used to wash their hands before going to the refectory, located just in front.

Useful information

Address : 

Tullyallen

Phone:

+353 41 982 6459

Price:

3 € (children 1 €)

Opening hours

[30 May-28 Aug: 10am-6pm]

Nearby tourist attractions

Monasterboice
Monasterboice
Ruins are all that remain of the
1:00
Dundalk City centre
Dundalk City centre
The development of Dundalk began in 1740
0:30
Brú Na Bóinne
Brú Na Bóinne
The stretch of valley between Drogheda
0:30
Boyne Valley
Boyne Valley
Upstream from Drogheda, huge,
0:30
Newgrange Newgrange
Newgrange
Dating from the same era as the pyramids
0:30
Slane Castle
Slane Castle
The impressive site overlooking the
1:00
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Monasterboice
Monasterboice
Ruins are all that remain of the
1:00
Dundalk City centre
Dundalk City centre
The development of Dundalk began in 1740
0:30
Brú Na Bóinne
Brú Na Bóinne
The stretch of valley between Drogheda
0:30
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Monasterboice
Monasterboice
Ruins are all that remain of the
1:00
Slane Castle
Slane Castle
The impressive site overlooking the
1:00
Francis Ledwidge Museum
Francis Ledwidge Museum
The cottage displays some of the
0:30
See all