Ballina The Essential
The major town in the north of County Mayo, Ballina is also the episcopal see of the Catholic diocese of Killala. Located between two bridges on the east bank of the River Moy which runs through Ballina, the cathedral of St-Muiredach was built in the 19C, near to the ruins of a late 14C Augustinian friary, founded by the O'Dowd family. The main door and the stained glass windows of the church date from the 15C.