The tower and the chancel walls belonged to a Franciscan foundation, built in 1240, and remained the property of the friars until 1539. The Holy Ghost hospital occupied part of the building from 1545 until 1882, when it was moved to the outskirts of the city. A chapel was in use by the Huguenots from 1693 until 1815. Many important Waterford families are buried here.
Address :Greyfriar's St.
Nearby tourist attractions
During the construction of the shopping
This building houses an exhibition of
The watchtower (10m high) surveys a well
Other ideas « Patrimony »