This little village, once capital of the province of Leinster, is famous for the ruins of its 12C abbey, burnt down in 1154, then rebuilt in 1160 and given to the Augustinians. All that remains of the church is the tower, square at the base and round at the top, and a part of the North wall. Some remains of the cathedral are also still standing. The 13C castle, one of the best of its kind in Ireland, has a rectangular keep. The first floor chapel boasts a beautiful vaulted ceiling.