San Domenico Maggiore

The Basilica was built in 1238, but greatly altered in 1506. The interior was renovated in neo-Gothic style between 1850 and 1853. The Cappellone del Crosifisso contains a miraculous crucifix. There are also 45 Aragon tombs and frescoes dating from the 14C., attributed to Pietro Cavallini, Giotto's student. The apse of the church overlooks a square decorated with a Baroque obelisk dedicated to Saint Dominic.

Useful information

Phone:

+39 081 557 3204

Opening hours

7.15am-noon, 5pm-7pm, Bank Hols 9am-1pm, 5pm-7pm

Nearby tourist attractions

Piazzetta del Nilo
Piazzetta del Nilo
This charming little square takes its
0:15
Sansevero chapel
Sansevero chapel
The charming little Sansevero chapel was
0:15
Santa Chiara
Santa Chiara
The building was commissioned by Sancie
0:15
San Lorenzo Maggiore
San Lorenzo Maggiore
The church was built in the 14C on the
0:15
San Gregorio Armeno
San Gregorio Armeno
The church was founded in the 8C to
0:15
Spaccanapoli
Spaccanapoli
On the site of Greek Neapolis, the heart
2:00
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Piazzetta del Nilo
Piazzetta del Nilo
This charming little square takes its
0:15
Sansevero chapel
Sansevero chapel
The charming little Sansevero chapel was
0:15
Santa Chiara
Santa Chiara
The building was commissioned by Sancie
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Sansevero chapel
Sansevero chapel
The charming little Sansevero chapel was
0:15
Santa Chiara
Santa Chiara
The building was commissioned by Sancie
0:15
San Lorenzo Maggiore
San Lorenzo Maggiore
The church was built in the 14C on the
0:15
See all