San Clemente a Casauria

Founded in 871 by Emperor Ludovic II, this imposing abbey was rebuilt in the 12C after devastating attacks by the Saracens. The 9C crypt is all that remains of the original abbey. Elsewhere, the sober style favoured by the Cistercians has to compete with the splendid capitals, main doorway, bronze door (1191) and inner ornamentation. Look out for the monumental paschal candelabrum, the splendid 12C pulpit and the finely sculpted Romanesque ciborium over the main altar, which consists of a 5C early Christian sarcophagus.

Useful information

Address : 

S 17, 65029 Torre-de'Passeri


+39 085 888 5162

Opening hours

Jul-Aug: 8.30am-1.30pm, weekends 8.30am-7pm; rest of year: daily except Sun 9am-1.30pm