Sant'Antioco di Bisarcio Church
Sant'Antioco di Bisarcio Church, the magnificent seat of the diocese, stands at the top of a spur in the peaceful countryside. Lovely colour effects are produced by the red and black trachyte rubble of the facing. The original structure, dating from before 1090, was destroyed by fire; the rest was reconstructed between the middle of the 12C and the early 13C. The asymmetrical façade of the two-storey front building, the island's only example of medieval architecture, is of French inspiration.
[Summer : 9am-1pm, 3pm-7.30pm; Winter: 10am-1pm, 2pm-5pm - closed Mon]