Schengen The Essential
It was in this frontier town, the prime winegrowing place in the Luxembourg Moselle region, that on the 14 June 1985 the representatives of the Luxembourg, German, French, Belgian and Dutch governments met. On board the "Marie-Astrid" boat, they signed the Schengen Agreement , recognizing the progressive abolition of the internal borders between their countries. At the start of the 1990s, Italy, Spain, Portugal and Greece signed up to this Agreement.