Fluweelengrot

Located below the castle with which they are linked, these caves are named after their former owner, Fluwijn. Just as with the municipal caves, these are old quarries which used to house refugees who have left a number of designs and low-reliefs there. The temperature is 10°.

Useful information

Address : 

Daalhemerweg 27, 6030 Valkenburg

Price:

9.50 € (children 6 €)

Opening hours

guided tour (50min) - Jul-Aug.: daily 10.30am-5pm (every 30min); rest of year: telephone for timetable

Nearby tourist attractions

Steenkolenmijn Valkenburg (Mining museum)
Steenkolenmijn Valkenburg (Mining museum)
A coal mine has been reconstructed in
1:30
Wilhelminatoren (Wilhelmina tower)
Wilhelminatoren (Wilhelmina tower)
From the top of the 30m high tower (160
Valkenburg Municipal Caves
Valkenburg Municipal Caves
These caves are old marl quarries which
1:00
Valkenburg Regional Museum
Valkenburg Regional Museum
The former town hall (1900) houses the
Kasteel-Ruine (Castle ruins)
Kasteel-Ruine (Castle ruins)
The ruined castle of the lords of
0:15
Romeinse Catacomben (Roman Catacombs)
Romeinse Catacomben (Roman Catacombs)
This is the reconstruction of fourteen
0:30
See all

Other ideas « Nature »

Valkenburg Municipal Caves
Valkenburg Municipal Caves
These caves are old marl quarries which
1:00
See all