Bergen op Zoom Belfry

This massive stone bell tower dates from the 14C. Its nickname "De Peperbus" (pepper pot) comes from the shape of its lantern (18C). It is a relic of Sint-Gertrudiskerk, the church that was destroyed by the French in 1747 then rebuilt and burned down in 1972. All that remains of the original building are the exterior walls of the nave (15C-16C).

Useful information

Address : 

4611 MR Bergen op Zoom

Nearby tourist attractions

Stadhuis
Stadhuis
The town hall occupies three houses. The
0:15
Markiezenhof
Markiezenhof
This building, which for the most part
0:15
Gevangenpoort (port prison) or Lieve Vrouwepoort
Gevangenpoort (port prison) or Lieve Vrouwepoort
This is the last remaining gateway of
0:30
Church
Church
This church, rebuilt after the Second
0:15
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Stadhuis
Stadhuis
The town hall occupies three houses. The
0:15
Markiezenhof
Markiezenhof
This building, which for the most part
0:15
Gevangenpoort (port prison) or Lieve Vrouwepoort
Gevangenpoort (port prison) or Lieve Vrouwepoort
This is the last remaining gateway of
0:30
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Stadhuis
Stadhuis
The town hall occupies three houses. The
0:15
Church
Church
This church, rebuilt after the Second
0:15
See all