St-Geertrudiskerk Belfry

This massive stone belfry dates from the 14C The shape of its lantern (18C) has earned it the nickname of pepper pot (from Peperbus). It is a relic of St Gertrude's Church, which was destroyed by the French in 1747, then rebuilt and burned down in 1972. All that remains of the original building, are the exterior walls of the nave, the transept and the chancel (15C) and a second transept (16C).

Useful information

Nearby tourist attractions

Stadhuis
Stadhuis
The town hall occupies three houses. The
15 minutes
Markiezenhof
Markiezenhof
This building, which for the most part
15 minutes
Gevangenpoort (port prison) or Lieve Vrouwepoort
Gevangenpoort (port prison) or Lieve Vrouwepoort
This is the last remaining gateway of
30 minutes
Church
Church
This church, rebuilt after the Second
15 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Stadhuis
Stadhuis
The town hall occupies three houses. The
15 minutes
Markiezenhof
Markiezenhof
This building, which for the most part
15 minutes
Gevangenpoort (port prison) or Lieve Vrouwepoort
Gevangenpoort (port prison) or Lieve Vrouwepoort
This is the last remaining gateway of
30 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Art and Culture »

Stadhuis
Stadhuis
The town hall occupies three houses. The
15 minutes
Church
Church
This church, rebuilt after the Second
15 minutes
See all