Waag (Public weigh-house)

The old chapel of Holy spirit (late 14C) was converted into a weigh house in 1582. To the east, the chancel has been replaced by a Renaissance building with a finely worked gable and has, since the 19C, been embellished with a painting on volcanic rock reflecting trade and industry. Its tower was built in the late 16C to the same design as the Oude Kerk (old church) of Amsterdam, and has chimes and an automatic mechanism that are set in motion every hour.

Useful information

Nearby tourist attractions

Langestraat
Langestraat
This pedestrian street is the town's
0:15
Stadhuis
Stadhuis
The charming Gothic façade of the town
0:15
Hollands Kaasmuseum (Dutch cheese museum)
Hollands Kaasmuseum (Dutch cheese museum)
Cheese presses and various other
Huit met de Kogel (House of the cannon ball)
Huit met de Kogel (House of the cannon ball)
This house has a corbelled wood facade
0:15
Mient
Mient
Many old facades border this square and
0:15
Kaasmarkt
Kaasmarkt
This traditional market, which is known
0:30
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Langestraat
Langestraat
This pedestrian street is the town's
0:15
Stadhuis
Stadhuis
The charming Gothic façade of the town
0:15
Huit met de Kogel (House of the cannon ball)
Huit met de Kogel (House of the cannon ball)
This house has a corbelled wood facade
0:15
See all