The House of Dolphins

Interesting
The name, House of Dolphins, pays homage to the first owner of this home, the Dutch grammarian Spieghel, author of a text on dolphins. The building is also known as the House of the Captain of the Night Watch, in honour of another of its occupiers, who was immortalised by Rembrandt in 1642. It was built, with its stepped double gable, in 1605 by Hendrick de Keyser, architect of the Munttoren and the Zuiderkerk.

Useful information

Adresse : 

Singel 140-142

Nearby tourist attractions

Magna Plaza (Postkantoor)
Magna Plaza (Postkantoor)
This building, which is supported by
15 minutes
The House of Heads (Huis met de Hoofden)
The House of Heads (Huis met de Hoofden)
The carved heads of six Roman gods
15 minutes
Oostelijk Havengebied
Oostelijk Havengebied
These vast expanses of reclaimed land,
60 minutes
Huis Bartolotti
Huis Bartolotti
This splendid house was designed around
15 minutes
The Northern Canals
The Northern Canals
Cut from 1586 onwards, these nobly-named
120 minutes
Nouvelle église luthérienne
Nouvelle église luthérienne
Built in 1671 to replace the old
15 minutes
See all

Other ideas « Patrimony »

Magna Plaza (Postkantoor)
Magna Plaza (Postkantoor)
This building, which is supported by
15 minutes
The House of Heads (Huis met de Hoofden)
The House of Heads (Huis met de Hoofden)
The carved heads of six Roman gods
15 minutes
Oostelijk Havengebied
Oostelijk Havengebied
These vast expanses of reclaimed land,
60 minutes
See all